

Novartis Chemistry Lectureship 2011–2012

The Novartis Chemistry Lectureship is awarded to scientists in recognition of outstanding contributions to organic and computational chemistry, including applications to biology. We congratulate the recipients featured here, as well as Daniel Kahne (Harvard University) and Melanie S. Sanford (University of Michigan), who was recently featured in this section.^[1]

Yujiro Hayashi (Tokyo University of Science) studied at Tokyo University and was awarded his PhD in 1992 for work supervised by Koichi Narasaka. He was a postdoctoral fellow with Elias J. Corey at Harvard University from 1994-1996, and has been full professor at Tokyo University of Science since 2006. Hayashi is on the Academic Advisory Board of Advanced Synthesis & Catalysis and the International Advisory Board of the European Journal of Organic Chemistry. His research interests include the development of new synthetic methods based on organocatalysis, and the synthesis of biologically active natural products. He has recently reported in Angewandte Chemie on oxidative and enantioselective cross-coupling reactions,^[2a] and an asymmetric one-pot four-component coupling reaction.^[2b]

Holger Gohlke (University of Düsseldorf, Germany) studied chemistry at the Technical University of Darmstadt (Germany), and was awarded his PhD (with Gerhard Klebe) in 2000 by the University of Marburg (Germany). He was a postdoctoral research associate with David A. Case at The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla (USA) from 2001-2003, and was appointed junior professor at the University of Frankfurt (Germany) in 2003. He moved to the University of Kiel (Germany) in 2008, and has been Professor of Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Düsseldorf since 2009. Gohlke's research is focused on the understanding and modulation of interactions involving biological macromolecules by developing and applying techniques grounded in bioinformatics, computational biophysics, and computational pharmaceutical chemistry. He has reported in ChemBioChem on the stability of RNA fluorobenzene self pairs,^[3a] and in *ChemMedChem* on elastic potential grids.[3b]

Ernest Giralt (University of Barcelona and Institute for Research in Biomedicine, Barcelona, Spain) studied at the University of Barcelona and the University of Montpellier (France). He completed his PhD in 1974 at the University of Barcelona, and was appointed professor there in 1986. Giralt is a member of the Editorial Advisory Boards of *ChemBioChem* and *Chemistry Open*, and the International Advisory Boards of *Chemistry*— *An Asian Journal* and *ChemMedChem*. Giralt's research interests are in the fields of peptide synthesis, molecular recognition, and structure determination, in particular using NMR spectros-copy. He has reported on ¹⁵N relaxation NMR studies of prolyl oligopeptidase in *ChemBio-Chem*,^[4a] and has discussed shuttle-mediated drug delivery to the brain in a Review in *Angewandte Chemie*.^[4b]

Tomislav Rovis (Colorado State University, Fort Collins, USA) studied at the University of Toronto, and earned his PhD in 1998 directed by Mark Lautens. From 1998-2000, he was a postdoctoral fellow with David A. Evans at Harvard University, and in 2000, he joined the faculty of Colorado State University, where he currently holds the John K. Stille Chair in Chemistry. Rovis' research group investigates the use of chiral nucleophilic carbenes as catalysts for aldehyde umpolung, and the use of transition-metal catalysts to assemble nitrogen heterocycles and in C-H activation strategies. He has recently written a Highlight in Angewandte Chemie on the organocatalytic hydroacylation of unactivated alkenes,^[5a] and he reported on a computational study of the catalytic asymmetric Stetter reaction in his latest Communication in Angewandte Chemie.[5b]

- a) Angew. Chem. 2011, 123, 827; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2011, 50, 801; b) Angew. Chem. 2011, 123, 12603; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2011, 50, 12397.
- [2] a) Y. Hayashi, T. Itoh, H. Ishikawa, Angew. Chem.
 2011, 123, 4006; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2011, 50, 3920;
 b) H. Ishikawa, S. Sawano, Y. Yasui, Y. Shibata, Y. Hayashi, Angew. Chem. 2011, 123, 3858; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2011, 50, 3774.
- [3] a) H. Kopitz, A. Živković, J. W. Engels, H. Gohlke, *ChemBioChem* 2008, 9, 2619; b) S. Kazemi, D. M. Krüger, F. Sirockin, H. Gohlke, *ChemMedChem* 2009, 4, 1264.
- [4] a) N. Kichik, T. Tarragó, B. Claasen, M. Gairí, O. Millet, E. Giralt, *ChemBioChem* 2011, *12*, 2737; b) M. Malakoutikhah, M. Teixidó, E. Giralt, *Angew. Chem.* 2011, *123*, 8148; *Angew. Chem. Int. Ed.* 2011, *50*, 7998.
- [5] a) D. A. DiRocco, T. Rovis, Angew. Chem. 2011, 123, 8130; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2011, 50, 7982; b) D. A. DiRocco, E. L. Noey, K. N. Houk, T. Rovis, Angew. Chem. 2012, 124, 2441; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2012, 51, 2391.

DOI: 10.1002/anie.201201221





Y. Hayashi



H. Gohlke



E. Giralt



T. Rovis